top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeal

Where to go From Here? - YouTube is Screwing me Over

Updated: Jan 21, 2018

I've had a few days to think through this topic, you may or may not have seen my posts across social medias. But honestly, I've still not planned exactly where I'm going from here.


For those that don't know, YouTube has changed its partnership programme and I'll no longer be a partner. [I guess being a YouTuber for 5 years doesn't mean much to them if you aren't famous yet lol]

I was a partner at the Freedom! network and as a result of being a partner I got access to many cool music libraries and all sorts of help for behind the scenes, however, this will no longer be accessible due to YouTubes new partner scheme.


Being a partner for me wasn't about the money. It was about the support and extra goodies it unlocked. Like end cards, the music, it opened doors to i cards etc too!


I was really bummed out at first, but I was like, "okay! I'll adapt to this situation and make the best out of it that I can!" and this is when I came to the conclusion that I will run YouTube through my patreon.

aaand then it was announced that we will no longer be able to advertise Patreon on our end cards or i cards on our videos if we aren't a partner.


So now I am a little dumbfounded on what to do.

Here is a list of things I am actively doing tho, and I'd love your guys input too;

  1. I'm looking for artists to collaborate with and make a deal with. I love using quality music on my videos, ofcourse theres the usually no copyright sounds and bass rebels. But I like to have access to a wide range of music. (p.s. if you make music and would allow me access to your music please get in touch at escapadefreelancing@gmail.com, full credit will be provided too)

  2. I am looking at other platforms available. Not for the sake of money, but for the sake of a platform that supports me and believes in me enough to want to help/see me grow.

  3. I'll be looking into accepting more sponsorships and collaborating with brands!

  4. I might release a paid subscription only video series! Whether this will be editing tricks or private videos or what! We'll have to see.

Shameless promo;

Over on my patreon you can support me in making videos for just $1 a month (thats $12 a year!).

$1 pledges gains you access to my thumbnails before release. Whereas $5 pledges gains you access to the video almost a week before its public release!

I don't only do videos on patreon tho so you'll also get some cosplay and photo goodies too!


Within the next month or so, I'll try to work on a solid plan for where I'm to go from here ;-; I'm going to work on the quality of my content and I have expectations to keep up to so I won't ever stop making videos! Its a passion of mine! I just hope I can find a platform that believes in my video making as much as you guys do! \^o^/


Just for reference guys, the new YouTube partnership requirements are just not doable for me. This isn't me being pessimistic, it is realistic guys. In my lifetime on YouTube I've reached 725hours (in almost 5 years!) I need that.....5 times...in just a year to maintain a partnership. This new system supports those who are doing long videos multiple times a week / those doing YouTube full time. For me, YouTube is a side project of my whole "brand" so to say.

I also do cosplays and they take hours.

I take photos and edit photos which takes hours.

I'm studying accountancy at college which takes 5 hours in class time + revision time a week.

The new system just isn't for me, but this isn't going to stop me from making videos guys!c:


Let me know of any ideas you have tho and what you'd suggest in this situation!\^o^/


Video on the subject:



24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page